Today we are quickly interested in the content of the LEGO DC set 76271 Batman The Animated Series Gotham City, a large box of 4210 pieces which will be available as an Insiders preview from April 1, 2024 at the public price of €299.99.

You know since the announcement of this colorful fresco, this is a strong homage to the animated series Batman: The Animated Series ou BTAS for the most die-hard fans or Batman: The Animated Series in our regions. Broadcast for the first time in 1992, this series has widely found its audience and its 65 episodes are now available on Netflix so that all those who never had the opportunity to watch it during their youth can do so.

LEGO is therefore going with a large fresco representing Gotham City from the series with its original “Art Deco” style architecture and its dark atmosphere. The construction, almost 80 cm long and more than 40 cm high, brings together numerous nods and other references to the series, the fan service is at work here to the hilt and everyone, including me Even those who have had excellent memories of this series will in principle not be disappointed.

The assembly of the product involves in part the junction between plates on which we gradually install all the planned elements, the progression is interesting and we never really get bored unlike certain LEGO mosaics that are more boring over time. I remember the wide variety of facades and techniques used to achieve the promised result, certain ideas are reused here and there but the progression is intelligently balanced so as to never have the impression of working on an assembly line.

There is no need to wait for the final result to benefit from all the good ideas in the set, each section reserves its share of layers integrating a detail or a scene and the object gradually becomes thicker as it progresses. installation of the different structures. It is therefore advisable to savor the assembly of the product and to take your time.

It will also be more difficult to come back to an underlay later without trying to guess whether this or that section is designed to be easily removed. Upon arrival, the fresco offers a beautiful effect of perspective and depth on Gotham City, like the LEGO Ideas set 21333 Vincent Van Gogh - The Starry Night, with the possibility of coming back whenever you want to pick up a section and enjoy what it hides or covers.

Many of the winks proposed involve the installation of stickers with graphics that I find uninspired and that's a bit of a shame. I'm thinking in particular of the twenty or so gray stickers which feature different characters, it's a bit sad as it is and there was undoubtedly room to make these different stickers more visually attractive to better integrate them into the diorama. We inevitably recognize the characters concerned via their minimalist interpretation in the form of a minifig but I am a little disappointed by the very simplistic side of the aesthetic bias.

If certain stickers disappear in the depths of Gotham under removable elements, a large part of them remains visible on the surface and one wonders how these stickers will age on a product intended to sit on a piece of furniture or to be hung on the wall . We must also take into account the difficulty of maintaining and dusting such a product with a complex surface design; a brush will not be enough and it will be necessary to use an air can or a blower regularly to prevent dust from nesting in areas. very difficult to access spaces.

There are two pad-printed elements in this box, not counting the four minifigs provided: the Bat-Signal visible in the sky of Gotham and the micro-representation of Batman on a red background installed at the top of a building. This is a failure for the Bat-Signal, whose yellow color pad-printed on a black background offers a much less attractive rendering than the retouched official visuals and the design of the Tile red which features Batman is once again a little too simplistic to convince me.

For the rest, in my opinion it is flawless with a very successful fresco, a frame with very thin edges which does not cannibalize the work, the possibility of placing the construction on a piece of furniture without it tipping over at the slightest contact thanks to the integration of two retractable supports at the rear and the guarantee for the most dedicated fans to be able to spend time exploring Gotham by removing the different removable sections to discover what is going on behind each facade. I am not listing all these references for you, those who make the effort to spend €300 in this big box must retain the privilege of this discovery.

The fresco is topped with an inscription which reproduces quite well the font used for the title of the animated series, with white letters underlined by an undercoat of black which highlights the text. I am one of those who think that the fresco really benefits from the presence of this visual extension, I would even have appreciated if the designer added the mention "The Animated Series"somewhere at the top of the table and perhaps in the form of a pad-printed plate, just to have the complete reference.

I have scanned the two sticker sheets provided for you (see below), you will find there all the references and characters which will adorn the fresco during assembly.

The product is accompanied by four new minifigs perched on a ledge independent of the main construction and flanked by two gargoyles in the manner of the presentation already seen in the sets 76139 1989 Batmobile et 76161 1989 Bat Wing. It's very successful and the four characters provided are graphically rather well executed with their outfits very faithful to those seen on the screen, except perhaps for Batman who struggles a little to convince me with this simplified and busy interpretation which lacks a bit. little visual elegance when comparing it with the outfit seen in the animated series.

I would also have appreciated a larger cast but here we have to make do with Catwoman, Batman, Harley Quinn and the Joker. Once again, certain pad prints are a little less successful in real life than on the official retouched visuals, I am thinking in particular of the white areas on the Harley Quinn figurine which turn pink on the red background of the parts that make up the figurine.

The fresco is sufficient in itself and some would undoubtedly have exchanged the handful of minifigs and the support provided for a lower retail price. That's not the case for me, I've watched this series a lot and being able to get four of the main characters is a real bonus that I appreciate alongside the build which instantly puts me back in the mood. This set is obviously aimed at a specific clientele and is not aimed at the youngest Batman fans who already have many much more fun little boxes on hand.

The homage to a cult animated series for an entire generation seems to me to be very well done, it will still be necessary to accommodate the price requested by LEGO, €300, to be able to display the thing in a comic book library or in an office rather than on the living room dresser. The product obviously falls into fan service but in my opinion it is done with a certain skill and the whole thing is coated in a really very original aesthetic which ensures an obvious link with the animated series from which it is inspired.

I already have a place reserved on my shelves for this beautiful object, I will make the effort as soon as the product is launched. For once, I balance the excessive nature of the public price of this box with a good combination between the pleasure of assembly linked to the discovery of the numerous references scattered throughout the streets of Gotham and the satisfaction of obtaining a visually very successful fresco. At the end, LEGO does not always manage to combine these two recipes with each other and I think that is the case here. I had a lot of fun building Gotham City with Chloe, each working on one of the two instruction booklets provided, and I've had just as much fun admiring the end result ever since.

Note: The product shown here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at April 4th next at 23:59 p.m. Simply post a comment below the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion. Avoid “I’m participating” or “I’m trying my luck”, we suspect that this is the case.

Join the discussion!
Subscribe
Receive notifications for
guest
1.6K Comments
the most recent
the oldest Top rated
See all comments
1.6K
0
Do not hesitate to intervene in the comments!x

76271 lego dc batman animated series gotham city 22

On s'intéresse aujourd'hui rapidement au contenu du set LEGO DC 76271 Batman The Animated Series Gotham City, une grosse boite de 4210 pièces qui sera disponible en avant-première Insiders dès le 1er avril 2024 au prix public de 299.99 €.

Vous le savez depuis l'annonce de cette fresque colorée, il s'agit ici d'un hommage appuyé à la série animée Batman : The Animated Series ou BTAS pour les fans les plus assidus ou encore Batman : La Série Animée dans nos contrées. Diffusée pour la première fois en 1992, cette série a largement trouvé son public et ses 65 épisodes sont maintenant disponibles sur Netflix pour que tous ceux qui n'ont jamais eu l'occasion de la visionner durant leur jeunesse puissent le faire.

LEGO y va donc d'une grande fresque représentant le Gotham City de la série avec son architecture  de style "Art Déco" originale et son ambiance sombre. La construction de près de 80 cm de long sur plus de 40 cm de haut regroupe de nombreux clins d'œil et autres références à la série, le fan service est ici à l'œuvre jusqu'à plus soif et tous ceux, dont moi-même, qui ont gardé un excellent souvenir de cette série ne seront en principe pas déçus.

L'assemblage du produit passe pour partie par la jonction entre des plaques sur lesquelles on installe progressivement tous les éléments prévus, la progression est intéressante et on ne s'ennuie jamais vraiment contrairement à certaines mosaïques LEGO plus rébarbatives sur la durée. Je retiens la grande variété de façades et de techniques utilisées pour aboutir au résultat promis, certaines idées sont réutilisées ici où là mais la progression est intelligemment équilibrée pour ne jamais avoir l'impression de travailler à la chaîne.

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'attendre le résultat final pour profiter de toutes les bonnes idées du set, chaque section réserve son lot de couches intégrant un détail ou une scène et l'objet prend progressivement en épaisseur au fur et à mesure de l'installation des différentes structures. Il convient donc de de savourer l'assemblage du produit et de prendre son temps.

Il sera d'ailleurs plus difficile de revenir plus tard sur une sous-couche sans essayer de deviner si telle ou telle section est conçue pour être retirée facilement. À l'arrivée, la fresque offre un bel effet de perspective et de profondeur sur Gotham City, à la manière du set LEGO Ideas 21333 Vincent Van Gogh - The Starry Night, avec la possibilité d'y revenir quand bon vous semble pour aller décrocher une section et profiter de ce qu'elle cache ou recouvre.

76271 lego dc batman animated series gotham city 1

76271 lego dc batman animated series gotham city 12

Beaucoup des clins d'œil proposés passent par l'installation de stickers au graphisme que je trouve peu inspiré et c'est un peu dommage. Je pense notamment à la vingtaine d'autocollants gris qui mettent en scène différents personnages, c'est un peu triste en l'état et il y avait sans doute matière à rendre ces différents stickers visuellement plus attrayants pour mieux les intégrer au diorama. On reconnaît forcément les personnages concernés via leur interprétation minimaliste en forme de minifig mais je suis un peu déçu par le côté très simpliste du parti-pris esthétique.

Si certains autocollants disparaissent dans les profondeurs de Gotham sous des éléments amovibles, une grande partie d'entre eux reste visible en surface et on peut se demander comment ces stickers vont vieillir sur un produit destiné à trôner sur un meuble ou à être accroché au mur. Il faut aussi prendre en compte la difficulté d'entretenir et de dépoussiérer un tel produit au design complexe en surface, un pinceau ne suffira pas et il faudra utiliser une bombe à air ou un souffleur régulièrement pour éviter que la poussière ne se niche dans des espaces très difficiles d'accès.

Il y a deux éléments tampographiés dans cette boite, sans compter les quatre minifigs fournies : le Bat-Signal visible dans le ciel de Gotham et la micro-représentation de Batman sur fond rouge installée au sommet d'un building. C'est raté pour le Bat-Signal dont la teinte jaune tampographiée sur fond noir offre un rendu beaucoup moins attractif que sur les visuels officiels retouchés et la design de la Tile rouge qui met en scène Batman est une fois de plus un peu trop simpliste pour me convaincre.

Pour le reste, c'est à mon avis un sans-faute avec une fresque très réussie, un cadre aux bords très fins qui ne cannibalise pas l'œuvre, la possibilité de poser la construction sur un meuble sans qu'elle bascule au moindre contact grâce à l'intégration de deux supports rétractables à l'arrière et la garantie pour les fans les plus assidus de pouvoir passer du temps à explorer Gotham en retirant les différentes sections amovibles pour découvrir se qui se trame derrière chaque façade. Je ne vous liste pas toutes ces références, il faut bien que ceux qui feront l'effort de dépenser 300 € dans cette grosse boite conservent le privilège de cette découverte.

La fresque est surmontée d'une inscription qui reproduit plutôt bien la police utilisée pour le titre de la série animée, avec des lettres blanches soulignées par une sous-couche de noir qui met le texte en valeur. Je suis de ceux qui pensent que la fresque profite vraiment de la présence de cette extension visuelle, j'aurais même apprécié que le designer ajoute la mention "The Animated Series" quelques part en haut du tableau et peut-être sous la forme d'une plaque tampographiée, histoire d'avoir la référence complète.

Je vous ai scanné les deux planches de stickers fournies (voir ci-dessous), vous y trouverez toutes les références et personnages qui viendront habiller la fresque au fil de l'assemblage.

76271 lego dc batman animated series gotham city 2

76271 lego dc batman animated series gotham city 14

Le produit est accompagné de quatre minifigs inédites juchées sur une corniche indépendante de la construction principale et flanquée de deux gargouilles à la manière de la présentation déjà vue dans les sets 76139 1989 Batmobile et 76161 1989 Batwing. C'est très réussi et les quatre personnages fournis sont graphiquement plutôt bien exécutés avec leurs tenues très fidèles à celles vues à l'écran, sauf peut-être pour Batman qui peine un peu à me convaincre avec cette interprétation simplifiée et chargée qui manque un peu d'élégance visuelle en la comparant avec la tenue vue dans la série animée.

J'aurais également apprécié un casting plus élargi mais il faut ici se contenter de Catwoman, Batman, Harley Quinn et du Joker. Une fois de plus, certaines tampographies sont un peu moins réussies en vrai que sur les visuels officiels retouchés, je pense notamment aux zones blanches sur la figurine d'Harley Quinn qui virent au rose sur le fond rouge des pièces qui composent la figurine.

La fresque se suffit à elle-même et certains auraient sans doute échangé la poignée de minifigs et le support fournis contre un prix public inférieur. Ce n'est pas mon cas, j'ai beaucoup regardé cette série et pouvoir obtenir quatre des personnages principaux est un vrai bonus que j'apprécie en marge de la construction qui me remet instantanément dans l'ambiance. Ce set s'adresse évidemment à une clientèle précise et ne vise pas les plus jeunes fans de Batman qui ont déjà de nombreuses petites boites beaucoup plus ludiques sous la main.

L'hommage à une série d'animation culte pour toute une génération me semble être très bien rendu, il restera à s'accommoder du tarif demandé par LEGO, 300 €, pour pouvoir exposer la chose dans une bibliothèque de comics ou dans un bureau plutôt que sur la commode du salon. Le produit verse évidemment dans le fan service mais il fait à mon avis avec une certaine habileté et le tout est enrobé d'une esthétique vraiment très originale qui assure un lien évident avec le série animée dont il s'inspire.

J'ai déjà une place réservée sur mes étagères pour ce bel objet, je ferai l'effort dès le lancement du produit. Je pondère pour une fois le caractère excessif du prix public de cette boite par une bonne combinaison entre le plaisir de l'assemblage lié à la découverte des nombreuses références disséminées dans les rues de Gotham et la satisfaction d'obtenir une fresque visuellement très réussie à l'arrivée, LEGO n'arrive pas toujours à combiner ces deux recettes entre elles et je pense que c'est ici le cas. J'ai pris beaucoup de plaisir à construire Gotham City en compagnie de Chloé, chacun s'occupant de l'un des deux livrets d'instructions fournis,  et j'en prends depuis tout autant à admirer le résultat final.

76271 lego dc batman animated series gotham city 23

Note : Le produit présenté ici, fourni par LEGO, est comme d'habitude mis en jeu. Date limite fixée au 4 avril 2024 prochain à 23h59. Il suffit de poster un commentaire sous l'article pour participer. Votre participation est prise en compte quel que soit votre avis. Évitez les "Je participe" ou les "Je tente ma chance", on se doute bien que c'est le cas.

Rejoignez la discussion !
S’abonner
Recevoir des notifications pour
guest
1.6K Commentaires
les plus récents
les plus anciens Les mieux notés
Voir tous les commentaires
1.6K
0
N'hésitez pas à intervenir dans les commentaires !x