15/11/2021 - 14:18 In my opinion... Lego news Reviews

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 1

Nothing looks more like a display case designed to proudly stack minifigures in it than another display case. There are therefore many proposals on the market with more or less deep models, with a more or less accomplished finish and at more or less high prices. The sign DIGS for FIGS Kindly offered to send me a copy of their unique model currently on sale and I therefore suggest you take a quick tour of this showcase sold at the price of 115.98 € to which you must add 23.20 € for postage and then pray to avoid customs fees (around thirty euros), shipping is from the United Kingdom.

That being said and knowing that there are still a few LEGO fans who don't count when it comes to finding a showcase for their precious minifigs, is this showcase really worth the asking price?

The packaging is well thought out, the object is delivered with its front face dismantled in a box well stocked with various and varied protections. The plexiglass is protected by plastic film, scratches are avoided and the probability of receiving a showcase in good condition is therefore maximum. I'm a little less convinced by the necessary assembly phase of the front door on the frame: you have to install two hinges using four screws and these two elements are not painted white. The two hinges will no longer be really visible since they are then visually hidden by the edge of the front face, but you will have to remember to choose the direction of installation of the display case on the chosen wall so as not to see them anymore when passing in front of it. The direction of the door is defined quite simply by turning the window over 180 °.

Inside, there is room, a lot of room. DIGS for FIGS has chosen to ignore the bricks that we usually find glued or screwed inside the products offered by other brands and this showcase incorporates real shelves. The manufacturer supplies 56 white plates in 6x8 and each row can accommodate 8 plates for a total available width of 64 studs by 6 studs deep. The height available on each floor of the display case is 6.5cm, which allows the display of the largest minifigs.

The plates provided are official LEGO products and therefore these white plates are not really white. The cream tone contrasts a little with the immaculate white of the window frame, it will have to be done with. Another slightly annoying detail, the interior of the chassis is not perfectly calibrated to accommodate the 8 plates lengthwise and the last one goes up a bit on one side in some rows. Remember to fix the display case to the wall before installing the plates, they slide easily on the smooth support.

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 2

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 8

No door closing latch, it's a bit of a shame because the basic hinges provided are very smooth and there is no closing catch. Be careful not to hang the edge of the door if the display case is installed in a somewhat narrow corridor or on a passage point. The finish of the whole is generally satisfactory from the front, the back of the product is a little more basic with visible staples to fix the bottom. Four hooks are pre-installed to allow the hanging of this 5kg display case (empty) on the wall, in both directions depending on your choice for opening the door. The display case must imperatively be installed on a wall, it will not stand up if it is simply placed on a shelf due to the overhang of the front face.

The showcase is not "waterproof" either, the door does not completely fit on the edges of the frame and sooner or later dust will invade the premises. It will also be impossible to customize the background, as the back panel is not designed to be removed and then reinstalled. The sign specifies that we can install up to 200 minifigs in this display case, but this is including the possibility of putting them in two rows. In fact, it will be more reasonable to be able to hope to present 16 minifigs without excessively bulky accessories per row on the 7 rows available, ie 112 minifigs. On the other hand, the significant depth of the display case allows for some fantasy if you want to personalize the back of your rows of minifigs with a wall or any other decoration.

In short, this product is rather well designed except for a few details, its overall finish is more than acceptable and we get enough to install more than a hundred minifigs without having to pile them too much or try to make them fit on two tenons with parts that sometimes come off. The very sober design of this showcase, also available in black, also allows it to be forgotten and to integrate into any interior. DIGS for FIGS do not hide it, this is not a product made in an artisanal way. These showcases are produced in small series in China and their selling price has recently increased to compensate for production and transport costs which have become prohibitive over the past two years.

The price charged here is obviously not comparable with the cost price of a "homemade" display case made from a RIBBA frame, but it is the price to pay to obtain a spacious and ready-to-use display case. Note that the brand also offers the display case without the 56 LEGO plates by using the code NOBASEPLATES in the basket. The window then goes to 87 € excluding shipping costs which is immediately more reasonable.

DIRECT ACCESS TO DIGS FOR FIGS >>

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 4

Note: The product shown here, provided by DIGS for FIGS, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at 27th November 2021 next at 23pm. The minifigs installed in the display case are not provided. Don't overdo it.

Update : The winner was drawn and was notified by email, his nickname is indicated below.

Olivier Scourneau - Comment posted the 15/11/2021 at 15:54
Join the discussion!
Subscribe
Receive notifications for
guest
403 Comments
the most recent
the oldest Top rated
See all comments
403
0
Do not hesitate to intervene in the comments!x

15/11/2021 - 14:18 À mon avis... LEGO News Reviews

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 1

Rien ne ressemble plus à une vitrine conçue pour y entasser fièrement ses minifigs qu'une autre vitrine. Les propositions sont donc nombreuses sur le marché avec des modèles plus ou moins profonds, à la finition plus ou moins aboutie et aux tarifs plus ou moins élevés. L'enseigne DIGS for FIGS m'a gentiment proposé de m'envoyer un exemplaire de leur unique modèle actuellement en vente et je vous propose donc de faire rapidement le tour de cette vitrine vendue au tarif de 115.98 € auquel il faut ajouter 23.20 € de frais de port et ensuite prier pour échapper au frais de douanes (une trentaine d'euros), l'expédition se faisant depuis le Royaume-Uni.

Ceci étant dit et sachant qu'il y a tout de même quelques fans de LEGO qui ne comptent pas lorsqu'il s'agit de trouver un écrin à leurs précieuses minifigs, cette vitrine est-elle vraiment à la hauteur du prix demandé ?

Le conditionnement est bien pensé, l'objet est livré avec sa face avant démontée dans un carton bien garni en protections diverses et variées. Le plexiglass est protégé par du film plastique, on évite les rayures et la probabilité de recevoir une vitrine en bon état est donc maximale. Je suis un peu moins convaincu par la nécessaire phase d'assemblage de la porte avant sur le châssis : il faut installer deux charnières à l'aide de quatre vis et ces deux éléments ne sont pas peints en blanc. Les deux charnières ne seront plus vraiment visibles puisqu'elles sont ensuite visuellement dissimulées par le rebord de la face avant mais il faudra penser à choisir le sens d'installation de la vitrine sur le mur choisi pour ne plus les voir en passant devant. Le sens de la porte se définit tout simplement en retournant la vitrine sur 180°.

À l'intérieur, il y a de la place, beaucoup de place. DIGS for FIGS a choisi de faire l'impasse sur les briques que l'on trouve habituellement collées ou vissées à l'intérieur des produits proposés par d'autre enseignes et cette vitrine intègre de vraies étagères. Le fabricant fournit 56 plaques blanches en 6x8 et chaque rangée peut accueillir 8 plaques pour une largeur totale disponible de 64 tenons sur 6 tenons de profondeur. La hauteur disponible sur chaque étage de la vitrine est de 6.5cm, ce qui autorise l'exposition des minifigs les plus volumineuses.

Les plaques fournies sont des produits officiels LEGO et ces plaques blanches ne sont donc pas vraiment blanches. Le ton crème contraste un peu avec le blanc immaculé du châssis de la vitrine, il faudra faire avec. Autre détail un peu agaçant, l'intérieur du châssis n'est pas parfaitement calibré pour accueillir les 8 plaques sur la longueur et la dernière remonte un peu d'un côté sur certaines rangées. Pensez à fixer la vitrine au mur avant d'y installer les plaques, ces dernières glissent facilement sur le support lisse.

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 2

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 8

Pas de loquet de fermeture de la porte, c'est un peu dommage car les charnières basiques fournies sont très fluides et il n'y a pas de cran de fermeture. Attention de ne pas accrocher le bord de la porte si la vitrine est installée dans un couloir un peu étroit ou sur un point de passage. La finition de l'ensemble est globalement satisfaisante de face, le dos du produit est un peu plus sommaire avec des agrafes visibles pour fixer le fond. Quatre crochets sont préinstallés pour permettre l'accrochage de cette vitrine de 5kg (vide) au mur, dans les deux sens en fonction de votre choix pour l'ouverture de la porte. La vitrine devra impérativement être installée sur un mur, elle ne tient pas debout si elle est simplement posée sur une étagère en raison du débord de la face avant.

La vitrine n'est pas non plus "étanche", la porte ne se plaque pas totalement sur les bords du châssis et la poussière finira tôt ou tard par envahir les lieux. Il sera également impossible de personnaliser le fond, le panneau arrière n'étant pas conçu pour être retiré puis réinstallé. L'enseigne précise qu'ont peut installer jusqu'à 200 minifigs dans cette vitrine, mais c'est en comptant la possibilité de les mettre sur deux rangées. Dans les faits, il sera plus raisonnable de pouvoir espérer présenter 16 minifigs sans accessoires trop volumineux par rangée sur les 7 rangées disponibles soit 112 minifigs. La profondeur importante de la vitrine permet en revanche quelques fantaisies si vous souhaitez personnaliser l'arrière de vos rangées de minifigs par un mur ou tout autre décor.

Bref, ce produit est plutôt bien conçu à quelques détails près, sa finition globale est plus qu'acceptable et on obtient de quoi installer plus d'une centaines de minifigs sans devoir trop les entasser ou essayer de les faire tenir sur deux tenons avec des pièces qui finissent parfois par se décoller. Le design très sobre de cette vitrine, proposée également en noir, lui permet aussi de se faire oublier et de s'intégrer dans tous les intérieurs. DIGS for FIGS ne s'en cache pas, il ne s'agit pas d'un produit fabriqué de manière artisanale. Ces vitrines sont produites en petite série en Chine et leur prix de vente a récemment augmenté pour compenser des coûts de production et de transport devenus prohibitifs ces deux dernières années.

Le tarif pratiqué ici n'est évidemment pas comparable avec le coût de revient d'une vitrine "maison" à base de cadre RIBBA, mais c'est le prix à payer pour obtenir une vitrine spacieuse et prête à l'emploi. À noter que l'enseigne propose également la vitrine sans les 56 plaques LEGO en utilisant le code NOBASEPLATES dans le panier. La vitrine passe alors à 87 € hors frais de port ce qui est tout de suite plus raisonnable.

ACCÈS DIRECT CHEZ DIGS FOR FIGS >>

digsforfigs minifig display frame white 4

Note : Le produit présenté ici, fourni par DIGS for FIGS, est comme d'habitude mis en jeu. Date limite fixée au 27 novembre 2021 prochain à 23h59. Les minifigs installées dans la vitrine ne sont pas fournies. N'abusez pas.

Mise à jour : Le gagnant a été tiré au sort et a été prévenu par email, son pseudo est indiqué ci-dessous.

Olivier Scourneau - Commentaire posté le 15/11/2021 à 15h54
Rejoignez la discussion !
guest
402 Commentaires
les plus récents
les plus anciens Les mieux notés
Voir tous les commentaires
402
0
N'hésitez pas à intervenir dans les commentaires !x
1