10307 lego icons eiffel tower 18

Today we are quickly interested in the content of the LEGO ICONS set 10307 Eiffel Tower, a large box of 10.001 pieces which will be available at the retail price of €629.99 from November 25th. Everyone will have an opinion on this voluminous interpretation of the Parisian monument, and as usual I want above all to emphasize here a few points which seem important to me in order to help those who hesitate to make an informed decision.

Like many of you, I was first frankly impressed by the first visuals of this imposing model which we cannot a priori blame for much. At first sight, the object seems very faithful to the reference monument and the announced measurements have something to impress, this last point eclipsing almost all the rest of the marketing arguments in favor of the product. With a footprint of 57 x 57 cm and a height of 1 m, this Eiffel Tower is indeed an exceptional object which therefore promises to guarantee long hours of assembly and an attractive exhibition potential.

I was lucky enough to be able to assemble this big model and I had promised myself, as often, to take my time to discover and savor all the subtleties of the set. However, it seemed obvious to me from the start that the assembly was going to reserve some somewhat boring and repetitive sequences and I therefore took the precaution of dividing the "experience" into many sessions that were too short to begin to feel tired.

The product inventory may seem substantial with the presence announced on the packaging of 10.001 elements including the essential brick separator, but it is in fact made up of only 277 different parts including more than 400 flowers, 666 plates 1x6, 324 bars (1x3 / 1x4) or even 660 Bar 1L with Handle. Those who love road plates will be served with twenty copies which are installed under the tower.

The inventory is also inflated by the presence of many small items whose presence may at first glance seem superfluous. But the rigidity of the tower is ensured by the use of many short elements which could easily have been replaced by longer versions, but at the cost of a visible deflection of certain substructures. It's not me who says it, it's the designer of the set. No new parts in this box, just new colors for elements already present in the manufacturer's catalog.

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 5

A logistical detail: The sachets are all unique, there are no two sachets bearing the same number in this box and this is good news for those who are not used to the presence of several sachets bearing the same number in open for a single assembly phase. There are 74 plastic bags distributed in the three cardboard sub-packages, not counting those that remain neutral and contain additional elements such as carousel rails, flexible rods or various and varied plates. The assembly process is therefore simplified by this more rational numbering, that's always taken.

On closer inspection, we quickly realize that this plastic Eiffel Tower is in fact an "idealized" version of the monument which would draw from different eras depending on the area concerned, eliminating certain details, adding others and forcing on arrival on the idea that the tower flanked by a large French flag at the top is in fact installed in the middle of an orchard filled with benches and Parisian lampposts.

We could conclude that we are therefore moving away from the pure exhibition model to get a little closer to the product for the distracted tourist who would like to bring back a nice souvenir of his Parisian holidays, forgetting in passing the current configuration of the place with its esplanade sadly tarred, its endless queues, its slightly anxiety-inducing security system and its very insistent street vendors. Why not, the LEGO version is after all only a free interpretation of reality.

You will also have noticed that the Eiffel Tower is simply not the right color here. It has never been gray over the years, it has only come in different shades of brown. The designer admits that there have been many discussions about this internally and justifies the colorway Dark Bluish Gray used by invoking in bulk the chromatic relationship between this box and the one marketed in 2007 (10181 Eiffel Tower), the impossibility of producing the entire inventory in a new, more suitable color without penalizing other sets due to internal limitations at LEGO on this specific point, or even some vague aesthetic considerations which, in my opinion, are more like a posteriori justification than anything else.

Many will try to convince themselves and you by the way that the chosen color was the most suitable, but that does not change the fact that it is simply not the right color. The dark gray used here nevertheless allows, according to the designer, to take advantage of a welcome contrast between the object and its possible exhibition context, but I am still unsatisfied on this point. The big French flag planted at the top of the tower has as usual nothing to do there, we are no longer in 1944 when French firefighters bravely hoisted a flag at the top under German fire, but it can be removed s it bothers you.

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 20 1

The set also explores the limits of readability when it comes to the assembly instructions divided into three booklets, certain angles are difficult to decipher and it will be necessary to remain vigilant despite the inevitable many frankly repetitive sequences imposed by the subject treated. Those who have taken the time to zoom in on the official visuals will have understood that some sections are a little fragile with braces that only hold on a single fixing point and which tend to move easily during handling. Some will therefore undoubtedly have the impression that the sub-assemblies connected on one side of the structure and which end in the void on the other spoil the overall rendering a little, especially when this tower is observed closely.

The set actually gives the illusion of a certain distance and it will be necessary to take the time to position all these braces very precisely correctly so that the effect persists closer. The regular dusting of the model with a brush must also be carried out without insisting too much, at the risk of moving some of these many crosses. You know this if you have watched the product presentation on Youtube, the four arches based on carousel rails are purely decorative, they do not support the upper structure of the tower, as on the real one.

I can't give a damn about the use of 32 sausages which are therefore now available in a previously unseen color, their presence does not seem to me to be likely to visually disturb the final result and it is always less serious than barrels that would be used to symbolize something other than their primary function. The argument of "it's too big but there are gray sausages" will allow you to create a diversion during your evenings with friends when they are looking for a place to sit in your cluttered living room.

More seriously, I still salute the work of the team in charge of designing this Eiffel Tower at LEGO, we are a long way from the basic stacking set 10181 marketed in 2007 and this new product involves many elements and techniques that make it a beautiful showcase of the manufacturer's current know-how.

I leave to all those who will make the effort to invest 630 € in this product the pleasure of discovering the different techniques used to preserve the essential mobility of the feet which allows them to be adjusted, the design of the different intermediate platforms and the connection points between the different sections, there is in my opinion enough to conclude that the designer has tried to do his best so that the fans find their account in spite of the few questionable choices of which I speak above and the lack of homogeneity of the curvature of the monument beyond the second floor. As luxurious as it is, this product remains a modest plastic model that cannot overcome certain constraints. On arrival, the model is stable, it does not wobble and the weight of the entire structure is well distributed over the four legs, as on the real one.

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 21 1

As for the assembly experience, it can't be called frankly entertaining, unless you like (very) repetitive sequences. There remains the pleasure of connecting the four legs together by orienting them so that they meet above the center of the base, of discovering from a certain distance the visual effect produced by the dozens of braces installed or the satisfaction to stack the four sections to obtain the final product but it will be difficult to escape a certain weariness which will precede the other problem posed by this product: where to put it once completely assembled? Let us be clear, there is no question of complaining about having the possibility of affording a large model which provides long hours of assembly, but it will then be necessary to find the ideal location to exhibit this enormous model which don't do it discreetly.

Those who have a room dedicated to their favorite hobby will quickly find a corner to display this Eiffel Tower, the others will have to learn to live with this luxury coat rack stuck somewhere in their living room. The good news is that the assembly can be moved or stored quite easily thanks to the cutting of the model into four independent sections which are simply fitted together. The base plate is also provided with four side notches which allow it to be grasped without breaking everything, it is well seen.

I won't be one of those who will buy this box, because I don't need a 1m50 high Eiffel Tower in my house, just as I can easily do without a wallpaper with the Empire State Building or large letters format the word kitchen on the wall of my kitchen, and that I wouldn't find a place for it that could really show it off anyway. On the other hand, I would have settled for a less ambitious but more compact model to obtain a more acceptable compromise between finish and size. To be totally honest, however, I do not regret having been able to have this imposing construction in my hands, the assembly of which, lasting around twenty hours, deserves to be shared with several people so that everyone can taste the different techniques offered.

LEGO once again wanted to impress its world with the "highest official product"Never marketed by the brand and the objective has probably been achieved in terms of marketing. It remains to be seen whether this announcement effect is transformed into sales volume thereafter, but even if this Eiffel Tower does not become a commercial success , it will have achieved its primary objective: to get people talking about the brand at a time of year when toy manufacturers are vying for the favors of consumers.

Now it's up to you whether this big adult fan toy that's also a very impressive but also very idealized rendition of the Eiffel Tower is worth moving the living room sofa to make room for it. If you intend to treat yourself to this product, don't spoil yourself too much about what makes it interesting: the different solutions used to arrive at the final result. This will be the only real reward you will get besides being able to display this great Eiffel Tower in your home.

Note: The set presented here, provided by LEGO, is as usual involved. Deadline fixed at November 28, 2022 next at 23:59 p.m. Just post a comment under the article to participate. Your participation is taken into account regardless of your opinion.

Join the discussion!
guest
2.1K Comments
the most recent
the oldest Top rated
See all comments
2.1K
0
Do not hesitate to intervene in the comments!x
4

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 18

On s'intéresse aujourd'hui rapidement au contenu du set LEGO ICONS 10307 Eiffel Tower, une grosse boite de 10.001 pièces qui sera disponible au prix public de 629.99 € dès le 25 novembre prochain. Chacun aura un avis sur cette volumineuse interprétation du monument parisien, et je veux comme d'habitude surtout souligner ici quelques points qui me semblent importants afin d'aider ceux qui hésiteraient à prendre leur décision en toute connaissance de cause.

Comme beaucoup d'entre vous, j'ai tout d'abord été franchement impressionné par les premiers visuels de cette imposante maquette à laquelle on ne peut a priori pas reprocher grand chose. L'objet semble à première vue très fidèle au monument de référence et les mensurations annoncées ont de quoi impressionner, ce dernier point éclipsant presque tout le reste de l'argumentaire marketing en faveur du produit. Avec une emprise au sol de 57 x 57 cm et une hauteur de 1m 50, cette Tour Eiffel est en effet un objet hors normes qui promet donc de garantir de longues heures de montages et un potentiel d'exposition alléchant.

J'ai eu la chance de pouvoir assembler cette grosse maquette et je m'étais comme souvent promis de prendre mon temps pour découvrir et savourer toutes les subtilités du set. Il me semblait toutefois évident dès le départ que l'assemblage allait réserver quelques séquences un peu ennuyeuses et répétitives et j'ai donc pris la précaution de répartir "l'expérience" en de nombreuses séances trop courtes pour commencer à ressentir de la lassitude.

L'inventaire du produit peut sembler conséquent avec la présence annoncée sur l'emballage de 10.001 éléments dont l'incontournable séparateur de briques mais il est en fait constitué de seulement 277 pièces différentes dont plus de 400 fleurs, 666 Plates 1x6, 324 barres (1x3 / 1x4) ou encore 660 Bar 1L with Handle. Ceux qui aiment les plaques de route seront servis avec une vingtaine d'exemplaires qui sont installés sous la tour.

L'inventaire est également gonflé par la présence de nombreux éléments de petite taille dont la présence peut de prime abord sembler superflue. Mais la rigidité de la tour est assurée par l'utilisation de nombreux éléments courts qui auraient facilement pu être remplacés par des versions plus longues, mais au prix d'un fléchissement visible de certaines sous-structures. Ce n'est pas moi qui le dit, c'est le designer du set. Pas de nouvelles pièces dans cette boite, juste de nouveaux coloris pour des éléments déjà présents au catalogue du fabricant.

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 5

Un détail logistique : Les sachets sont tous uniques, il n'y a pas deux sachets portant le même numéro dans cette boite et c'est une bonne nouvelle pour ceux qui ne sont pas habitués à la présence de plusieurs sachets portant le même numéro à ouvrir pour une seule et même phase de montage. Il y a 74 sachets en plastique répartis dans les trois sous-emballages en carton sans compter ceux qui restent neutres et contiennent des éléments additionnels comme les rails de manège, les tiges souples ou les plaques diverses et variées. Le processus d'assemblage est donc simplifié par cette numérotation plus rationnelle, c'est toujours ça de pris.

En y regardant de plus près, on se rend très rapidement compte que cette Tour Eiffel en plastique est en fait une version "idéalisée" du monument qui piocherait dans différentes époques en fonction de la zone concernée, éliminant certains détails, en rajoutant d'autres et forçant à l'arrivée sur l'idée que la tour flanquée d'un gros drapeau français au sommet est en fait installée au milieu d'un verger rempli de bancs et de lampadaires parisiens.

On pourrait en conclure qu'on s'éloigne donc de la pure maquette d'exposition pour se rapprocher un peu du produit pour touriste distrait qui voudrait ramener un joli souvenir de ses vacances parisiennes en oubliant au passage la configuration actuelle des lieux avec son esplanade tristement goudronnée, ses interminables files d'attente, son dispositif de sécurité un peu anxiogène et ses vendeurs à la sauvette très insistants. Pourquoi pas, la version LEGO n'est après tout qu'une libre interprétation de la réalité.

Vous l'aurez également remarqué, la Tour Eiffel n'est ici tout simplement pas de la bonne couleur. Elle n'a jamais été grise au fil des années, elle a seulement été déclinée dans différentes teintes de brun. Le designer avoue que de nombreuses discussions ont eu lieu à ce sujet en interne et justifie le coloris Dark Bluish Gray utilisé en invoquant en vrac le lien de parenté chromatique entre cette boite et celle commercialisé en 2007 (10181 Eiffel Tower), l'impossibilité de produire la totalité de l'inventaire dans un nouveau coloris plus adapté sans pénaliser d'autres sets en raison des limitations internes chez LEGO sur ce point précis, ou encore quelques vagues considérations esthétiques qui ressemblent à mon avis plus à une justification a posteriori qu'autre chose.

Beaucoup essaieront de se convaincre et de vous convaincre au passage que la couleur choisie était la plus adaptée, mais cela ne change rien au fait que ce n'est tout simplement pas la bonne couleur. Le gris foncé utilisé ici permet pourtant selon le designer de profiter d'un contraste bienvenu entre l'objet et son éventuel contexte d'exposition mais je reste tout de même sur ma faim sur ce point. Le gros drapeau français planté au sommet de la tour n'a comme d'habitude rien à faire là, nous ne sommes plus en 1944 lorsque des pompiers français avaient courageusement hissé un drapeau au sommet sous les tirs allemands, mais il peut être retiré s'il vous gêne.

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 20 1

Le set explore par ailleurs les limites de la lisibilité lorsqu'il s'agit des instructions de montage réparties en trois livrets, certains angles sont difficilement déchiffrables et il faudra rester vigilant malgré les inévitables nombreuses séquences franchement répétitives imposées par le sujet traité. Ceux qui auront pris le temps de zoomer sur les visuels officiels auront compris que certaines sections sont un peu fragiles avec des croisillons qui ne tiennent que sur un seul point de fixation et qui ont tendance à se déplacer facilement lors des manipulations. Certains auront donc sans doute l'impression que les sous-ensembles connectés d'un seul côté de la structure et qui se terminent dans le vide de l'autres gâchent un peu le rendu global surtout lorsque cette tour est observée de près.

L'ensemble fait effectivement illusion d'une certaine distance et il faudra prendre le temps de positionner très précisément tous ces croisillons correctement pour que l'effet persiste de plus près. Le dépoussiérage régulier de la maquette au pinceau devra être également effectué sans trop insister, au risque de déplacer certains de ces nombreux croisillons. Vous le savez si vous avez regardé la présentation du produit sur Youtube, les quatre arches à base de rails de manège sont purement décoratives, elles ne soutiennent pas la structure supérieure de la tour, comme sur la vraie.

Je n'en remets pas une couche sur l'utilisation de 32 saucisses qui sont donc maintenant disponibles dans un coloris inédit jusqu'ici, leur présence ne me semble pas de nature à perturber visuellement le résultat final et c'est toujours moins grave que des tonneaux qui seraient utilisés pour symboliser autre chose que leur fonction première. L'argument du "c'est trop gros mais il y a des saucisses grises" permettra au passage de faire diversion durant vos soirées entre amis quand ces derniers chercheront un endroit où s'assoir dans votre salon encombré.

Plus sérieusement, je salue tout de même le travail de l'équipe en charge de la conception de cette Tour Eiffel chez LEGO, on est bien loin de l'empilement basique du set 10181 commercialisé en 2007 et ce nouveau produit met à contribution de nombreux éléments et techniques qui en font une belle vitrine du savoir-faire actuel du fabricant.

Je laisse à tous ceux qui feront l'effort d'investir 630 € dans ce produit le plaisir de découvrir les différentes techniques utilisées pour conserver aux pieds leur indispensable mobilité qui permet de les ajuster, la conception des différentes plateformes intermédiaires et les points de connexion entre les différentes sections, il y a à mon avis de quoi en conclure que le designer a essayé de faire de son mieux pour que les fans y trouvent leur compte malgré les quelques choix discutables dont je parle plus haut et le manque d'homogénéité de la courbure du monument au-delà du deuxième étage. Aussi luxueux soit-il, ce produit reste une modeste maquette en plastique qui ne peut pas s'affranchir de certaines contraintes. À l'arrivée, la maquette est stable, elle ne chancelle pas et le poids de la totalité de la structure est bien réparti sur les quatre pieds, comme sur la vraie.

10307 lego icons eiffel tower 21 1

Du côté de l'expérience d'assemblage, on ne peut pas la qualifier de franchement divertissante, sauf si vous aimez les séquences (très) répétitives. Il reste bien le plaisir de connecter les quatre pieds entre eux en les orientant pour qu'ils se rencontrent au dessus du centre de la base, de découvrir d'une certaine distance l'effet visuel produit par les dizaines de croisillons installés ou la satisfaction d'empiler les quatre sections pour obtenir le produit final mais il sera difficile d'échapper à une certaine lassitude qui précèdera l'autre problème posé par ce produit : où le mettre une fois totalement assemblé ? Entendons-nous bien, il n'est pas question de se plaindre d'avoir la possibilité de s'offrir une grosse maquette qui procure de longues heures d'assemblage, mais il faudra ensuite trouver l'emplacement idéal pour exposer cette énorme maquette qui ne fait pas dans la discrétion.

Ceux qui disposent d'une pièce dédiée à leur loisir favori y trouveront rapidement un coin pour exposer cette Tour Eiffel, les autres devront apprendre à vivre avec ce porte-manteau de luxe coincé quelque part dans leur salon. La bonne nouvelle, c'est que l'ensemble peut-être déplacé ou stocké assez facilement grâce au découpage du modèle en quatre sections indépendantes qui sont simplement emboitées. Le plateau de base est d'ailleurs pourvu de quatre encoches latérales qui permettent de le saisir sans tout casser, c'est bien vu.

Je ne serai pas de ceux qui achèteront cette boite, parce que je n'ai pas besoin d'une Tour Eiffel de 1m50 de haut chez moi, tout comme je me passe sans problème d'un papier peint avec l'empire State Building ou de grosses lettres format le mot cuisine sur le mur de ma cuisine, et que je ne lui trouverais de toute façon pas un emplacement qui puisse vraiment la mettre en valeur. Je me serais en revanche contenté d'un modèle moins ambitieux mais plus compact pour obtenir un compromis plus acceptable entre finition et encombrement. Pour être totalement honnête, je ne regrette cependant pas d'avoir pu avoir entre les mains cette imposante construction dont l'assemblage d'une durée d'une vingtaine d'heures mérite d'ailleurs d'être partagé à plusieurs pour que chacun puisse goûter aux différentes techniques proposées.

LEGO a voulu une fois de plus impressionner son monde avec le "plus haut produit officiel" jamais commercialisé par la marque et l'objectif est sans doute atteint en terme de marketing. Il restera à vérifier si cet effet d'annonce se transforme en volume de ventes par la suite mais même si cette Tour Eiffel ne devient pas un succès commercial, elle aura atteint son objectif premier : faire parler de la marque à une période de l'année ou les fabricants de jouets se disputent les faveurs des consommateurs.

C'est maintenant à vous de voir si ce gros jouet pour fans adultes qui est aussi une interprétation très impressionnante mais également très idéalisée de la Tour Eiffel mérite que vous déplaciez le canapé du salon pour lui faire une place. Si vous avez l'intention de vous offrir ce produit, ne vous spoilez pas trop ce qui en fait l'intérêt : les différentes solutions utilisées pour arriver au résultat final. Ce sera la seule réelle récompense que vous obtiendrez en marge de pouvoir exposer cette grande Tour Eiffel chez vous.

Note : Le set présenté ici, fourni par LEGO, est comme d'habitude mis en jeu. Date limite fixée au 28 novembre 2022 prochain à 23h59. Il suffit de poster un commentaire sous l'article pour participer. Votre participation est prise en compte quel que soit votre avis.

Mise à jour : Le gagnant a été tiré au sort et a été prévenu par email, son pseudo est indiqué ci-dessous.

Yanek - Commentaire posté le 24/11/2022 à 9h45
Rejoignez la discussion !
guest
2.1K Commentaires
les plus récents
les plus anciens Les mieux notés
Voir tous les commentaires
2.1K
0
N'hésitez pas à intervenir dans les commentaires !x
4